I’ve gone Paleo!


Follow Me on Pinterest

I owe my recent adoption of a paleolithic diet to my ongoing digestive woes.  So what does that mean?  A paleolithic diet follows the the basic principle of consuming what our caveman ancestors would have eaten.  Eating paleo means I eat a variety of meats, vegetables, fruit, nuts and seeds.  I’ve eliminated salt(though I still consume naturally occurring salt),dairy, grains, legumes, refined sugar, and some starchy vegetables (such as white potatos).  Basically, someone who is paleo eats as if the agricultural revolution never happened.  I originally started eating like this to control my painful IBS symptoms and as a result ended loosing about 10 pounds (woo hoo!).  The more I research it, the more the diet makes sense.

Here is a simple image that helps explain what it means to adopt a paleolithic diet:

3 thoughts on “I’ve gone Paleo!

    • A fellow IBS sufferer, I feel your pain! I am also cutting back on my eggs as those can give me mild symptoms as well. The book “The Whole Foods Guide to Overcoming IBS” really helped me learn how to manage my symptoms and the food guidlines are pretty close to the paleo diet. Thanks!

Leave a Reply

