Falling Short of Goals


It happened.  I fell off the horse.  I ate ice cream, and Thai food, and all kinds of things that aren’t on my plan.  Oh it was soooo good but so bad.  Eating clean has still been apart of my everyday lifestyle, but it has definitely taken a back seat.  Initially, I struggled with feelings of guilt, regret, and discouragement.  The farther I strayed from my eating plan the farther my target goal seemed to be.  So what did I do?  The next opportunity I had I made good choices.  I didn’t dwell on the fact that I ate ice cream the night before or eaten WAY too much brie and crackers.  The most beneficial thing you can do for yourself when you fall off the horse is get back on as soon as possible.  It’s too easy to dwell on bad decisions and let the guilt cripple you.  By doing this, we end up sabotaging our own goals.  I’ve taken the past week and realize the following factors have played a huge part in setting me back:

  • Preparation (or lack thereof) as in meal prep.  Preparation is key in achieving your goals, if you don’t prepare, you won’t be ready.  Simple.
  • Justifying one bite here or one bite there.  20 little bites throughout the day add up!
  • Not blogging!  This blog is something that holds me accountable and not doing it meant that I wasn’t holding myself accountable and ignoring my cheats.  Living in denial!
  • Not enough sleep.  Why would you want to prepare your meals and workout if you have zero energy?
  • Lacking groceries.  I haven’t had many healthy options around lately which means I’ve been more likely to go grab a bite to eat at a restaurant or out of the freezer.
SO WHAT AM I GOING TO DO TO CHANGE THESE BAD HABITS AND GET BACK ON TRACK?
  • Dedicate more time to meal preparation.  It’s all about priorities, surf the internet or have my meals ready for the next day?
  • Keep it real!  No more BS-ing myself.  Having a bite here and there is cheating no matter how I like to sugar coat it.  If I am going to eat, I will sit down and have a meal or a snack.
  • Blog more.  This is like my online journal.  Reading and writing in it reminds me why I live the lifestyle I do.
  • Go to bed earlier.
  • Make sure my pantry and fridge are well stocked with clean options.  Nutrition plays into about 80% of  any weight loss goals.  Food is your tool, if you don’t have the right tools you can’t get the job done.
Time to re-motivate myself and get back on track!
Leave a Reply

